The 8th International Conference Buddhism & Australia
Chinese Buddhist Encyclopedia Illustrations
|Articles by alphabetic order|
World's largest book
|Please consider making little donation to help us expand the encyclopedia Donate Enjoy your readings here and have a wonderful day|
It has 730 leaves and 1460 pages; each page is 107 centimetres (3.51 ft) wide, 153 centimetres (5.02 ft) tall and 13 centimetres (5.1 in) thick.
Each stone tablet has its own roof and precious gem on top in a small cave-like structure of Sinhalese relic casket type called kyauksa gu (stone inscription cave in Burmese), and they are arranged around a central golden pagoda.
The pagoda itself was built as part of the traditional foundations of the new royal city which also included a 'pitakat taik' or library for religious scriptures, but King Mindon wanted to leave a great work of merit for posterity meant to last five millennia after the Gautama Buddha who lived around 500 BC.
As well as organizing the Fifth Buddhist council in 1871, he was responsible for the construction in Mandalay of the world's largest book, consisting of 729 large marble tablets with the Tipitaka Pali canon of Theravada Buddhism inscribed on them in gold.
One more was added to record how it all came about, making it 730 stone inscriptions in total.
Work began on 14 October 1860 in a large shed near Mandalay Palace.
The text had been meticulously edited by tiers of senior monks and lay officials consulting the Tipitaka (meaning "three baskets", namely Vinaya Pitaka, Sutta Pitaka and Abhidhamma Pitaka) kept in royal libraries in the form of 'peisa' or palm leaf manuscripts.
It took a scribe three days to copy both the obverse and the reverse sides, and a stonemason could finish up to 16 lines a day.
All the stones were completed and opened to the public on 4 May 1868.
Assembly and contents
The stones are arranged in neat rows within three enclosures, 42 in the innermost, 168 in the middle and 519 in the outermost enclosure. The caves are numbered starting from the west going clockwise (let ya yit) forming complete rings as follows:
|middle far||111–210||111 Vinaya, Abhidhamma Pitaka 112–210|
|outermost perimeter||310–465||Abhidhamma 310–319, Sutta Pitaka 320–417, Samyutta Nikaya 418–465|
|outermost next in||466–603||Samyutta 466–482, Anguttara Nikaya 483–560, Khuddaka Nikaya 561–603|
Thirty years later in 1900, a print copy of the text came out in a set of 38 volumes in Royal Octavo size of about 400 pages each in Great Primer type.
Annexation, desecration and restoration
The British later invaded the North, the gems and other valuables were looted, and the buildings and images vandalised by the troops billeted in the temples and pagodas near the walled city and Mandalay Hill.
When the troops withdrew from religious sites after a successful petition to Queen Victoria, restoration work began in earnest in 1892 organised by a committee formed by senior monks, members of the royal family and former officers of the king including Atumashi Sayadaw (Abbot of Atumashi Monastery),
In the tradition of the time, when something needed repair, it was first offered to the relatives of those who had originally made the Dana[disambiguation needed] (donation) and they came forward and assisted in making repairs. The public was then asked for help, but the full original glory was not achieved.
The gold writing had disappeared from all 729 marble tablets, along with the bells from the hti (umbrella or crown) of each of the small stupas, and they were now marked in black ink, made from shellac, soot from paraffin lamps and straw ash, rather than in gold, and few of the gems still exist.
The undergrowth amongst the caves was cleared and paved through public donations appealed for in the Ludu Daily in 1968. The words of the Buddha are still preserved in this place which is therefore a popular destination for devout Buddhists as well as scholars and tourists.